Today, while reading in Deuteronomy, I was reminded of the fact that I need to regularly make a conscious effort to remember God’s blessings upon me, lest I should take them for granted and forget Him. Could we really forget such a benevolent God? Could we ever turn our backs on the God who loved us enough to veil himself in flesh and die for his own creation? Well, could we?

Moses spends the first several chapters of Deuteronomy rehearsing God’s goodness to the Israelites and reminding them of their rebelliousness in spite of those blessings. He then tells them of the blessings which await them in Canaan, and in chapter 6 verse 12, he says “Then beware lest thou forget the Lord, which brought thee forth out of the Land of Egypt, from the house of bondage.” But they did forget, and we know how that turned out for the Jews!

Today, I remind myself of the blessing of ministry just as the Apostle Paul did in 1 Timothy 1:12, where he says, “And I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who hath enabled me, for that he counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry.”  Wow! I actually get to preach the Word of God and lead people to faith in Christ for a living! I honestly believe I would have to take a step down to accept the presidency of the United States. If I had one thousand lives to live, I would want to spend them all as God’s preacher! Thank you Lord for allowing me to preach the Gospel!

In as short or as long a reply as you would like, share what blessing God reminded you of today!

