Being able to say “I’m sorry” in sincerity is necessary to maintain a healthy relationship. Usually, the only reason one won’t apologize is simply foolish pride. No one likes to admit they are wrong, and saying “I’m sorry” typically implies that. Sometimes we need to say “I’m sorry” when we are right because our only motive was to prove we were right while not taking into consideration that declaring our “rightness” would hurt someone else.  I don’t tender this advice because it overflows out of my vast stores of wisdom, but rather because I’ve been married for nearly 22 years and have raised 4 children and have been afforded many opportunities to say “I’m sorry”. And though there may be some lingering feelings of regret tucked away because of some stupid thing I did or said during those 22 years, there are also some things I don’t regret one iota. There are some things I did in my life that, given an opportunity to do all over, I wouldn’t change a thing. If my kids don’t’ understand it till their fifty or whether the liberal news media or the world sardonically labels it politically, socially, or even religiously incorrect, there are a few things I will absolutely not apologize for.

I do not apologize for raising my children in a conservative Christian home (as if there is such a thing as a liberal Christian home; an oxymoron). I do not apologize for trying my best to insulate them from the vicious, evil influences of a wicked and corrupt world. I don’t apologize for desiring them to be wise regarding godliness and simple concerning sin.

I do not apologize for home schooling and sending them to a private Christian school. I do not apologize for keeping their minds from being polluted by the filth and wickedness that takes place in public schools. I do not apologize for attempting to keep them from receiving a distorted, warped, humanistic world view through text books written by and, for the most part, taught by atheists.

I do not apologize for disciplining my children by spanking them with a belt or switch while they were growing up. I do not apologize for instilling in them the character trait that they must take responsibility for their actions and that there are consequences for good choices and bad choices alike. It’s not my problem that you prefer my results but don’t have the guts to adopt my methods, which actually are the Bible’s methods.

I do not apologize for choosing their friends for them as they grew up. I do not apologize for not letting them “hang out” with non-Christian acquaintances. I do not apologize for allowing them to have any friend they choose to come over to our house where I could monitor and even select the evening’s activities. I do not apologize for not allowing them to “sleep over” at a worldly or carnal Christian family’s home. I do not apologize for not wanting them to be subjected to a home where there might be alcohol, tobacco, profanity or worse being used in front of them.

I do not apologize for not allowing them to date through high school. I do not apologize for not allowing them to give a piece of their heart away several times to several different people before they actually get to the marriage altar. I do not apologize for not allowing them to practice how to divorce by breaking up several times throughout their teenage years.

I do not apologize for having them in church every time the doors were opened. I do not apologize for believing they needed to be educated in the word of God on a weekly or even daily basis to counter the garbage they inadvertently receive from the limited exposure to the world they do encounter. I do not apologize for sending them to youth camps and youth conferences every year where they would interact with thousands of other Christian kids from all over the country who lived the same way they did.

I do not apologize for sending them to Christian colleges where, in spite of a lack of accreditation, literally tens of thousands of other young men and women have graduated with a diploma in liberal arts or Bible degrees and have gone on to succeed in life with a promising and successful career or ministry.

But most of all, I do not apologize for constantly trying to bring them to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ. For I realize this is absolutely the most important and loving thing I could ever do for them. All these other things that I have written above served only to bring them to that point, but ultimately, they have to make that decision on their own.

I will have to stand before God one day and give an account of the family He entrusted to my care. I have not been a perfect dad or husband, but I hope that when I stand before the Lord on that day, He will review the things I did and did not apologize for and say to me, “Well done”.

