Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I enjoy listening to Dave Ramsey as much as the next guy, and, per his advice, I have tried to apply as many of the biblical principles regarding debt-free living into my life as possible, but there is still one debt I, as a Christian, will never pay in full. It’s not because I don’t want to pay this debt. Indeed, I would love nothing more at the end of my life than to be able to say, “I’ve run the race, I’ve finished my course, I’ve kept the faith.” But I read in the book of ball_and_chain-536x352 Romans about a debt that I will never get paid in full because I can’t stop this world from populating itself. As long as people are in this world and without Jesus Christ, I, as a born-again child of God, am indebted to them. I owe it to my fellow human being to share with him the gospel of Jesus Christ. I possess the knowledge of how he can miss Hell and make Heaven. If I do not share that knowledge, then I am of all men most rank.

The Apostle Paul said in Romans 1:14-16

“I am debtor both to the Greeks, and to the Barbarians; both to the wise, and to the unwise. So, as much as in me is, I am ready to preach the gospel to you that are at Rome also.  For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to everyone that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek.”

Many of us are on a fast track to be debt-free within a certain period of time. Many have made material and monetary sacrifices so that they are not chained to a lender. But how many sacrifices have we made to be debt free spiritually? As the physical debt is always in the front of our conscience, so also should the spiritual debt weigh heavily upon our soul. Brethren, let us look around. Are we ignoring our spiritual debt? Just as a monetary debt grows exponentially if ignored, so also does our spiritual debt compound as the population increases. Many lost souls are plunging into an eternal hell because we are shrugging of our Christian responsibility to share the soul saving, life changing gospel with them. I’m sure glad someone paid his debt to me 28 years ago!

As we go about our tasks this week or this month, I encourage you to join me in the challenge to be consciously aware of our heavenly debt. Let’s carry gospel tracts and ask God to help us be sensitive to the Spirit’s promptings as we cross the paths of those to whom we are indebted. May God bless you richly as you serve him is my prayer.

