We’ve all seen it, the car covered withbird-poop-on-car an enormous amount of bird droppings (henceforth called ‘flop’).  In an effort to escape the direct sunlight, some unwitting soul parks their car under a tree, not seeing the evidence of a bird sanctuary on the ground before they pulled in. Perhaps we should give those poor unfortunates the benefit of the doubt and consider the idea that quite possibly their assigned parking spot is a haven for roosting birds. Whatever the case, we’ve all looked on with either disgust or pity for the poor souls driving the vehicle.

 I saw that car yesterday. It really was an elegant car with a rather sophisticated woman at the wheel. We were at an intersection across from one another waiting for our light to turn green. She got the arrow first and began her turn. She seemed oblivious to the excessive amount of flop that assaulted her otherwise elegant carriage. I found myself judging her. I asked myself, “Doesn’t she realize how much flop is on her car?” Surely she did. How could she not? I couldn’t help but to stare as she turned right in front of me. I figured there was way too much flop on her car to be the product of just a single day. That had to be a week’s worth at the very least. I wondered why she didn’t wash the car. How careless she must be! How completely complacent and apathetic this made her appear!

 Just as I was about to pat myself on the back for having a somewhat clean vehicle, God gave me the proverbial smack upside the head. In an instant, I was reminded of how I must look to God as I go through the day being assaulted by the world. What makes matters worse is that sometimes I am as oblivious to the world’s flop as that lady seemed to be. That ‘harmless’ worldly song I listened to or sang along with at the store implanted a mental image of its message into my mind and on my heart causing me to have thoughts I shouldn’t have. I thought about that little bird of lust that defiles my soul, heart and mind as I watch television. The scantily clad women who parade around in front of me at half time or during the commercials, or the vile language that is used in the movies I watch. I imagine my ‘vehicle’ must get awfully filthy in a day’s time. And then there are days when I don’t even make it to the ‘wash’ to clean it up and the flop just compounds exponentially.

 After the Lord spanked me really good for being so judgmental and condemning, I tried to learn from this event. So, what did I learn? Well, for starters, why didn’t I even entertain the idea that maybe she was borrowing the car? It might not have even been hers. I jumped to conclusions without even knowing the facts.

 Lesson number one – don’t be quick to judge.

Conversation based upon fragmentary knowledge and partial understanding, accomplish nothing but rumors.

 Second – Avoid the flop.

As I mentioned before, there are tell-tale signs of potential danger zones regarding those shameless birds. Just look on the ground before resigning to a shady spot under a nice big tree. The evidence is sure to be there. The best looking parking spot might be the only one available for a reason. The same is true with my spiritual life. If I am to avoid the foul flop of sin, I must heed the instruction of 1 Peter 5:8 which says, “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour.” And Ephesians 5:18, which says, “See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise.” And again in Proverbs 4:14 & 15, which give these instructions: “Enter not into the path of the wicked, and go not in the way of evil men. Avoid it, pass not by it, turn from it, and pass away.”

 Third – If I can’t avoid the flop, then make sure I wash it off every day.

Car washes aren’t very expensive and will prolong the life of the car. Not only that, but I find that when my car is clean, I feel better about driving it around. As to my spiritual life, I find that I am in need of a daily cleansing. Ps. 119:9 says, “Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed thereto according to thy word.” It is true that if we do not take a spiritual bath in the morning before heading out to meet the day, many times we not only are susceptible to sin, but we actually pursue it. I need the daily cleansing that comes from a steady intake of the Water of the Word of God.

 The next time you happen to see one of those foul fowl flop covered vehicles, I hope you remember this little testimony and ask God to help you step back and take a look at your own “vehicle” through his eyes.

 As one of my seminary professors used to say, “Keep a bended knee, a sharp sword, and an eye on the sky.” God bless you.

