Readings from

Isaiah 26:9
With my soul have I desired thee in the night; yea, with my spirit within me will I seek thee early: for when thy judgments are in the earth, the inhabitants of the world will learn righteousness.

 My dog Sunday has a room in the house where she sleeps each night. We have a baby gate on the door that is not nearly tall enough to keep her from jumping over it if she wanted to, but she has never tried.

Every morning when I get up, I have to pass in front of her room on my way to the living room where I have my morning devotions and coffee. Every morning when she hears me, she comes over to the gate, lays down, tail thumping the ground, hoping that I’ll stop and talk to her or reach down and pet her. I always do. It’s our little ritual. Our day wouldn’t be complete without it.

My Lord spoke to me one day during this little ritual. He spoke in that still, small voice of His and said, “James, are you as eager to see me in the morning as Sunday is to see you? Do you hope to hear my voice and desire to have me place my hand upon you as Sunday hopes to hear your voice and feel your touch? Is your day incomplete if we don’t spend time together?”

 Proverbs 8:17
I love them that love me; and those that seek me early shall find me.

